City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held at The Guildhall, York on Thursday, 26 May 2022, starting at 11.00 am.

Present: The outgoing Lord Mayor (Cllr Christopher Cullwick) in the Chair for the first part of the meeting, the incoming Lord Mayor (Cllr David Carr) in the Chair for the second part of the meeting, and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
	Galvin
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
Myers Wells	
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Widdowson	D'Agorne D Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Fitzpatrick Looker
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Hollyer Pearson	Douglas
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Melly K Taylor

Hull Road Ward Huntington and New Earswick

Ward

Norman Orrell

Pavlovic Runciman

Micklegate Ward Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward

Baker

Crawshaw

Kilbane

Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward Rural West York Ward

Smalley Barker Waudby Hook

Strensall Ward Westfield Ward

Doughty Daubeney
Fisher Hunter
Waller

Wheldrake Ward

Vassie

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Barnes, Heaton, Lomas, Musson, Perrett, Rowley, Wann, Warters and Webb.

77. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any pecuniary interests or other registrable interests they might have in respect of business on the agenda, if they had not already done so in advance on the Register of Interests. No interests were declared.

78. Appointment of Lord Mayor

Councillor Galvin moved, Councillor Looker seconded, and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor David Carr be elected Lord Mayor of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

79. Qualification of Lord Mayor

Councillor David Carr signified Acceptance of the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the Declaration of such acceptance and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by the law in that behalf.

80. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Hunter moved, Councillor Dave Taylor seconded, and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Mrs Suzie Mercer be elected Sheriff of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

81. Qualification of Sheriff

Mrs Suzie Mercer made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

82. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Carr as Lord Mayor moved, Councillor Craghill seconded, and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Christopher Cullwick be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

83. Qualification of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Christopher Cullwick made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of York and took the Affirmation of Allegiance prescribed by law.

84. Under Sheriff

The Sheriff advised Council that Gerald Neil Francis had been chosen to serve as Under Sheriff during this year of office, and thanked him for undertaking this service to the City.

85. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

Councillor Orrell moved, Councillor Pavlovic seconded, and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress for their services to the city during the past municipal year.

86. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady

Councillor Aspden moved, Councillor Fitzpatrick seconded, and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady for their services to the city during the past municipal year.

87. Formal Business of Council - Allocation to Seats and Appointments to the Council Structure and Other Bodies for 2022/23

Cllr Aspden moved, and Cllr D'Agorne seconded, the recommendations in respect of allocations to seats and appointments set out in paragraph 29 of the report of the Director of Governance at pages 1-7 of the agenda papers, with reference to the annexes to that report, the revised annexes in the Agenda Supplement and the revisions circulated at the meeting (Agenda Supplement 2).

Cllr Crawshaw and Cllr Douglas then addressed the meeting and, in consequence of their comments, a separate vote was taken in respect of the recommended appointments to each of the following committees:

Planning Committee A Planning Committee B

Customer & Corporate Services Scrutiny Management Committee

Audit & Governance Committee

On being put to the vote, the recommended appointments to the above committees were declared CARRIED in each case.

The remaining recommendations were then put to the vote and declared CARRIED and it was

Resolved: (i) That the allocation of seats be agreed in accordance with Annex A to the report.

- (ii) That the nominations to committees and other bodies, as well as the nominations to Chairs and Vice-Chairs, be agreed as set out in the report and its annexes and in the supplementary papers.
- (iii) That the proposed allocation of motions for consideration at Ordinary Full Council meetings for the period 2021-2023, as approved by Annual Council in 2019, be noted.
- (iv) That, in respect of the changes to the Executive portfolios notified to the Monitoring Officer by the Leader of the Council in Annex B1(a), the Monitoring Officer will update the Council's Constitution accordingly.

Reason: To fulfil the Council's statutory and constitutional requirements.

Cllr David Carr LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.30 pm]